When Social Media Becomes News

James Surowiecki’s TED video talked about the impact social media has on society. He focused on the idea of blogs being the center for the virtual community for sharing information. He even stated that many of the blog’s readers tend to be smarter than the blogger.

This video was a recording of a conference in 2005, and I think Suroweicki is right. There are a lot of popular websites that promote individuals to post content onto the site. Truthfully, sometimes, social media is a news source for me. I see my friends post links on my facebook, or I see people tweeting about the same issue. I even get serious, political news from a viral link site, buzzfeed.

What used to be a well-defined source of news, is fading. The lines are fading. People are finding new sources of news. Social media is a more personal way of communicating current events to people.

About hannahsachie

Throughout my life, I've had the opportunity to travel to different countries and experience a new way of life. There are a lot of great things that go unnoticed or have yet to be created, and that is why I started this blog. Aside from blogging, I enjoy exploring nature, painting and spending time with friends. I also love meeting new people and sharing my stories. View all posts by hannahsachie

Leave a Reply

